RSS

Collaborating (kind of): Anna J. Light

17 Apr

https://i0.wp.com/annalightministries.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/img_87302-300x200.jpg

Collaborate

Anna J. Light: Parent Liasons

First Things First

Anna is an awesome woman with an amazing passion for youth and connecting with families.  I had the privilege of meeting Anna last year at the Orange Conference in Atlanta… though, at the time, she was going by her maiden name – Anna Meadows.

I truly appreciate Anna’s call to us in ministry – we need to build a bridge between those of us with an agenda (read as: church staff) and those we hope to equip and connect with (parents and students).  This might be a novel concept for some… but it’s an essential for all of us.

Quick Take-Away

I love this concept… but (and I’m sure I’m not the only one), I struggle putting it into practice.  I can cast vision for small group leaders.  I have a harder time asking a parent to put one more thing on their plate by asking them to help me greet and welcome other parents when they could be in church or a parenting class.  Again, I TOTALLY get why I need to do this.  We need to bridge the gap between ministry leaders and the parents we’re trying to engage.  Maybe if I knew who my target was… the perfect recruit for this sort of a team… maybe then I could begin to dream about who I know that could fill that roll.  Until then, I’m loving the concept and struggling with my next step.

This post is 1 of many in a series.  I’m assuming that the contributing authors of Collaborate want to have a conversation with me.  You can read my open letter to them here.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 17, 2010 in Book Review, Collaborate Book, Kidmin

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Collaborating (kind of): Anna J. Light

  1. Anna Light

    April 19, 2010 at 10:10 am

    “Love the concept, struggling with my next step.”

    Anthony,

    Thanks for bringing this up. Like you said, I’m sure many ministry leaders are in the same boat. Of course every person’s “next step” might be different according to how their ministry flows, but here are a couple things I would do to get something like Parent Liazons up and running.

    1. Pray. If you know bridging the gap between your ministry and parents is important, ask God to bring you a parent, or a couple of parents who are passionate about student ministry.

    2. Ask. I’m reminded of chapter two in Bill Hybels’ book “Axiom” entitled “Make the Big Ask,” where he says, “I realized long ago that “asking” would always be a significant part of my leadership role. What I didn’t know was that the longer I led, the bigger my “asks” would get.” Yes, you will have to ask. But is that such a bad thing? There are members of The Church waiting to be asked to step into a larger leadership role. Some would be honored to be asked to be a part of something so special.

    3. Release. Recently, my pastor, reminded the staff that we are not to simply recruit volunteers. We are to release leaders. When we release someone to do what they are passionate about, often times we will realize they will do it far better than we ever could. When you find someone who fits the mold, release them to do what they’ve been called to do.

    As far as who your target for a role like this might be, I would look for people who are on the right side of need. Most people fall on one of two sides. They are either needy, or needed. You want the ones who are needed–the ones who understand they are here to be ministers, not simply ministered to. These are the individuals you want to ask.

    I hope this gives you and anyone else wondering a few “next steps” in making something like this a reality.

    Like

     
    • Anthony Prince

      April 20, 2010 at 7:41 am

      I’m officially stealing the phrase, “the right side of need.”

      Anna Light – I’m a fan of you. Thanks for actually engaging the conversation 😉

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
