RSS

Collaborating (kind of): Becky Arthur

18 Apr

https://www.harvestercc.org/files/childrens%20files/new%20children%27s%20web/becky%20arthur_Resized_120x160.jpg

Collaborate

Becky Arthur: Family Connect

First Things First

Becky’s article gave us some tangible ways to actually connect with parents.  I love tangible take-aways.  Thanks, Becky!

Here they are:

  • Communicate
  • Discontinue the kids-only VBS
  • Dedicate Parents
  • Build a Backyard Bible Club
  • Include Parents
  • Organize Family Teaching
  • Mark Spiritual Growth

Quick Take-Away

I think Becky is making some pretty awesome suggestions… we just have to learn to read between the lines.  Our VBS model works, but we can absolutely lean into a strategy that includes and engages parents in the midst of it.  We won’t be launching backyard Bible clubs any time soon… but I have a friend who has an AMAZING idea for an event that encourages and equips families to take the love of Jesus into their neighborhoods.

(Tangent: this same friend has a wife who’s writing a book.  I’m convinced that this book would sell more copies if it featured a vampire.  You can slap a vampire on anything and it will sell.  In fact, I’m tagging this post with the word “Vampire” and I bet it gets twice as many hits as the rest of this series.  At least.)

This post is 1 of many in a series.  I’m assuming that the contributing authors of Collaborate want to have a conversation with me.  You can read my open letter to them here.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2010 in Book Review, Collaborate Book, Kidmin

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Collaborating (kind of): Becky Arthur

  1. Courtney Walsh

    April 18, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Oh, you are so right. I am turning my heroine into a vampire (vampiress?) just to see if it flies off the shelf. Somehow I think I’d be missing my target audience. lol

    I do agree that our Easter idea is working far better than what we were doing when we first started. (big, church-wide egg hunt). I think the best part is that parents are doing something on their own turf, totally pressure-free and they end up building relationships without even trying. Good stuff. 🙂

    Off to read your open letter now… 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
