RSS

New Website Launch: Kidmin Conference

01 Dec

Today is the official launch date of the new Kidmin Conference website.

And… it got me thinking.

I never did the “conference thing” at my previous churches.  I always felt like I was too busy or that our church wasn’t the conference’s target audience.  I would often find my self making excuses… “We’re too small”, “We’re bigger than who they’re thinking of”, “I can hardly afford Goldfish crackers, I can’t afford a conference”, “I can just read the books and blogs and listen to podcasts later”… and the list goes on.

If I could go back and talk to 20 year-old me, I’d drill home the importance of conferences… if they’re the right ones.

I love The Orange Conference because it’s a few thousand like-minded ministry professionals and volunteers with the same end in mind.  But, I’ll be honest, if your church isn’t moving in Orange directions… it might be tough to make this your ONE conference experience for the year.  20-year-old-me was an Elementary ministry assistant at a massive church – it would have been tough for me to begin implementing an Orange strategy from my shoes (not impossible… just tough).

Here’s the cool thing about Kidmin: I can promise you that “early-in-ministry-me” or “small-church-me” or “ministry-assistant-me” or “current-big-church-me” would have some massive take-aways and “ah-ha” moments.  Kidmin will be a choose-your-own-adventure of sorts – there are enough tracks and workshops to choose from that anyone who has a heart for serving kids and families in the Church will have options that apply to their world.

On top of that – Kidmin is built around relationships.  You should care about connecting with other people in ministry.  I’m not going to coach you toward owning that value – you just need to know that it’s something you should value.  With that in mind, Kidmin is doing this REALLY neat things called “Connect Groups” (you can read more about them here: http://www.childrensministry.com/kidmin-conference/relate-relax/connect-groups).

Here’s what the website says about Connect Groups (which, seriously, are one of my favorite things about Kidmin):

Connect Groups
KidMin Conference is a conversation where people from similar ministries can easily maximize ideas, find networking opportunities, and build relationships with others in a casual small group.

How are Connect Groups set up?
Connect Groups are optional small-group style conversations for people in similar ministry situations, led by seasoned ministry leaders who serve as mentors for each group. Connect Groups typically meet at the same location (usually a sack chair pod) at various times throughout the conference. Connect Group locations, meeting times, and discussion topics are clearly posted every day.

Do I have to go to a Connect Group?
Nope. It’s casual and open, just stop by and check out a Connect Group anytime-no one is taking attendance, and everyone is welcome!

All that to say – you need to check out the new Kidmin Conference website (kidmin.childrensministry.com) and consider registering.  If cost is something you worry about – I’ll be posting later this week about how you can get to Kidmin with little cost to you or your church.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2010 in Kidmin, Resources

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “New Website Launch: Kidmin Conference

  1. Lindsey Whitney

    December 6, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Just stumbled upon the blog today. Great post!

    Like

     
  2. Courtney

    December 9, 2010 at 9:21 am

    It’s funny because I’ve said the same thing about writing conferences. Not enough money, I’ll just read the book… but I’m telling you, there’s something SO inspiring and energizing about sitting in classes with other people who GET what you do.

    We’ll be at Kidmin. I hope we get to hang out with you again! Adam will love it! 🙂

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
