RSS

Dare You To Move

27 Apr

I’ve been struck, in my first 36 hours in Atlanta, by the way that God lines things up before he calls us to move.

I have to start by telling you that I shouldn’t be surprised by this.  I totally get that.

Well over a decade ago, my youth pastor asked me to run part of our church’s Sunday school program.  Then God called me to pursue a degree in elementary education and then led me to move away from my family – to a part of the country where I’d meet my future wife.  That move lined me up for the chance to become a ministry assistant at one of the largest churches in Southern California.  From there, God called me move in order to grow a little kids’ ministry at a church in NorCal. And, finally, God called my pregnant wife and I to move away from our families and brought us to the church and the ministry I’m a part of today.

In my story, I can point to a million ways that God used people and experiences to prepare me for His next move.  I rarely saw them coming, but He knew what was going on the whole way.

I don’t think I’m unique in the way God has been with me in the midst of my moves.

And, here’s the crazy thing: did you know he’s doing the same for you today?

If you’re reading this post, you might not know a move is in your future.  Let me tell you about the move that God might be calling you to take.

In the last week, I’ve met over a dozen leaders looking to hire a person that God will use to reach their community in ways they can’t even dream of yet.  In the same amount of time, I’ve met around the same amount of kid and student pastors who feel as though God may be calling them to the next thing He has for them – they just don’t know what that is yet.

I’ve met ministry leaders who are getting dreams of seminary, dreams of new community programs, dreams about partnering with other churches in their community.

Today, I met a dad who thinks God wants him to become a stay at home dad so that his wife could restart her career in journalism.

Those are just a handful of moves that God has placed in front of people.

God knows what’s next for them… and for you (!) and he’s using your history and your current context to move you there. You’re going to have to take a step of faith, though.

I have friends who feel like they get a “word” from God on occasion.  If you’re one of those friends, could you pray over the people who read this blog and use the comments section to pass on what moves God might be calling us to.  And, if God is moving you, and you’re gutsy enough to share, use the comments section to tell us where you’re leaning.

We want to cheer you on along the way.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Thoughts

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Dare You To Move

  1. Ron

    April 27, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    Yep….I hear ya. Add me to that list of people God is getting ready to move. We know he has a place for us but we are not sure where, so our process is just beginning. Prayers are appreciated.

    Like

     
  2. Greg Thompson

    April 28, 2011 at 2:35 am

    God is calling someone to have a hard conversation with their pastor about feeling called to another ministry

    Like

     
  3. Lu

    April 28, 2011 at 11:40 am

    God wants you to start the after school program you keep dreaming about

    Like

     
  4. Sarah Joy

    April 28, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    God wants you to adopt the little girl you’ve been praying about

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
