RSS

Cheering for Each Other (The Land Between)

28 Apr

How many churches do you cheer for?

As I sit at the Orange Conference, listening to Jeff Manion from Ada Bible Church (Grand Rapids, MI), I feel like I’m listening to an older brother sharing his wisdom with me.  The crazy thing – I’ve never met Jeff.  However, I cheer for his ministry and his church every chance I get.

A few years ago, I met a dear friend of mine, Dan Scott (www.danscottblog.com), at the Orange Conference.  As I spoke with Dan and shared hopes and dreams together, I began to understand that the Church is bigger than my church’s building.  I began regularly praying for and cheering for Ada Bible Church – though I’ve never been there and probably never will.

So, now, years later I find myself listening to Dan’s senior pastor and feeling like we’re family.  And, as Jeff speaks about The Land Between, I’m listening differently than when I hear other conference speakers.  It’s because I cheer for, and pray regularly for, his church and the lost people his ministry is reaching.

So, I’ll ask again – how many churches do you cheer for?

There’s someone out there in a Land Between – the land between where they’ve been and where God is calling them to move to.  What if God was calling you to reach out to and pray for someone who’s in that season?  Would your ministry look different if you began seeking out and cheering for others in ministry?  I’d like to think it would.

Praying for and connecting with other church leaders doesn’t require anything but a willing heart.  You could be a small town kidmin, you could be an amazing volunteer, a mom who doesn’t feel like she has it all figured out… God just wants you to be willing.

God is calling you to move.  It will change the way you do ministry.

Now, go – meet someone and start cheering them on.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2011 in Kidmin, Orange

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Cheering for Each Other (The Land Between)

  1. Kristin Brænne

    April 28, 2011 at 1:21 pm

    ★★★★★

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
