RSS

VBS, Trust & Skydiving

06 Jul

Last year, as we trained our 300 VBS Student Leaders, I shared a story of the first time I went skydiving.  What does skydiving have to do with VBS?  Well… here’s my story:

During my community college days, my buddy Forrest and I decided to take a day off of work and school to go jump out of a plane.  I wish I could say we put more thought into it than that… but, I don’t think we did.  It was a two hour drive from our small town to the nearest skydiving location and we used the drive to talk about life, music and what we might say at each other’s funerals if our chutes didn’t open.

When we arrived, all of my expectations for what a skydiving location might look like were shattered.  The guy running the place seemed a bit aloof, there was one tiny airplane on a runway that ended with a cliff and the “training” we went through to prepare for our jumps consisted of watching a VHS tape that cut in and out as it told us how our jump might go.

It hardly helped my fading confidence in our plan when I met our pilot – a student from another local community college who was working toward his pilot’s license.

Fast-forward to a little less than an hour later and I found myself staring out of the open door of an airplane at 10,000 ft above the ground.  At that moment, as the man strapped to my back began to rock back and forth and scoot me toward the edge, I had to decide where I was placing my trust.  Everything in me wanted to grab the sides of the doors and stay inside of the plane.  Yet, I had someone strapped to me telling me that it was all going to be okay – I just had to trust him.

And then he began to count down: 3, 2, 1…

—-

Our instincts aren’t always trustworthy when we’re facing a new or scary challenge.  Sometimes, as I told the student leaders we had at our VBS last year, you have to trust the sweaty guy strapped to your back.  You have to trust that things aren’t always as they seem and that there is someone in control who has a bigger picture of what’s going on than you do.

So, this week, I’m thinking about the plane that Jesus wants me to jump out of and I’m trying to remind myself to trust that God has a bigger view of the picture than I do.  When I learn to trust and rely on the others that God has placed in my life, the blessings always outweigh the frustration.  I just have to remind myself of that the next time I want to hold on to everything I can get a grasp of.

I challenge you to do the same.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 6, 2011 in Kidmin, Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
