RSS

Daily Archives: May 16, 2009

Can a CM Call Out Sick?

http://cache.eb.com/eb/image?id=85508&rendTypeId=4

Kids are germ hotels.
From their grimy hands to their runny noses, kids are walking disease incubators.

So, it’s inevitable that those of us who put our bodies in that line of fire week in and week out will come down with some sort of hybrid mutant cold/flu/virus at some point during the year.
The question then becomes, what happens to your programming when you’re out sick?  Or… do you take a sick day?  If you’re out sick, do they cancel Sunday school?  Does your church allow you to be sick?

For many of us, it’s much easier to take a Monday off than a Sunday.  For some, it’s because we can do our work from home during the week, but cannot invite church over to our houses on a weekend.  For others, like myself, it becomes a control issue more than anything else.
As I wrestle through the annual battle of taking a weekend off, I begin asking questions like:

  • Do I trust my team enough to let them run a Sunday morning?
  • Have I trained my leaders well enough that they can take on extra roles in my absence?
  • In the event of an emergency, have our plans been communicated well enough that I don’t have to be there to provide oversight?
  • If programs run well without me, then is there a need for my position?

If you’ve wrestled with these questions, or questions like them, I’d love for you to share your stories in the comments section.

Everyone gets sick.  What happens when it’s the Children’s Pastor?

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 16, 2009 in Kidmin

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,